Home » Big Library Read
Big Library Read

Become a champion mystery-solver with Laurien Berenson

As part of the Big Library Read program, your library will be featuring A Pedigree to Die For by Laurien Berenson starting the morning of June 3 and concluding the afternoon of June 18 (U.S. EST). During this reading period, Laurien’s hair-raising murder-mystery will be available for every patron that wishes to read it—no holds, no waitlists.

By participating in the Big Library Read, you can join a global movement of passionate readers and library patrons who support the availability of eBooks and audiobooks at your local library.

About the book

The apparent heart attack that killed kennel owner Max Turnbull has left seven pups in mourning, and his wife Peg suspecting foul play. But the only evidence is their missing prize pooch—a pedigreed poodle named Beau.

Enter Melanie Travis. With her young son happily ensconced in day damp, the 30-something teacher and single mother is talked into investigating her uncle’s death—unofficially, of course. Posing as a poodle breeder in search of the perfect stud, Melanie hounds Connecticut’s elite canine competitions, and finds an ally in fellow breeder Sam Driver. But her affection cools when she’s put on the scent of Sam’s questionable past . . . and hot on the trail of a poodle-hating neighbor and one elusive murderer who isn’t ready to come to heel.

Subject: Mystery, FictionFormats: eBook, OverDrive Read, Kindle (U.S. only), EPUB

Lending Model:Simultaneous Use for June 3-18, 2014. After the program, your library may purchase the title for one copy/one user lending.

Praise for “A Pedigree to Die For

A Pedigree to Die For is fascinating.”
Mystery Lovers Bookshop News

“A sleek and unusual book.”
Dog News

“A special treat.”
Library Journal

Laurien Berenson

About the author

Laurien Berenson is an award-winning author. She’s most noted for her Melanie Travis series of murder mysteries based on school teacher Melanie Travis who owns and shows full-size pedigree Standard Poodles. The series includes: Doggie Day Care Murder, Hounded To Death, Chow Down, and Raining Cats & Dogs. Berenson is an Agatha and Macavity nominee, winner of the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, and a four-time winner of the Maxwell Award which is presented by the Dog Writers Association of America. She lives in Kentucky with her family.